Ethiopia to Become Full Member of BRICS From Jan 1

Ethiopia is among six states that will become new full members of the BRICS economic bloc from 1 January 2024.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the names of countries that will be invited to join the BRICS group of nations as full-fledged members after BRICS leaders discussed the issue.

“As the five BRICS members, we have reached agreement on the guiding principles, standards, criteria and procedures of the BRICS expansion process,” he said.

Accordingly, the BRICS leaders have reached a consensus on the first phase of this expansion process.

“We have decided to invite the Argentine, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates to become full members of BRICS from 1 January 2024,” he announced.

Source: Link to the Post

Leave a Reply