MPs Approve Boards for EBC, Ethiopian Press Agency

ADDIS ABABA – Parliament has endorsed the appointment of new management boards for the Ethiopian Broadcasting Corporation (EBC), and the Ethiopian Press agency (EPA).

Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed appointed nine individuals for the EBC’s board with the Government Communication minister Legesse Tulu (Ph.D.) as a chairperson.

He also nominated nine others to serve on the EPA’s Board with Dr. Mihiret Debebe, chief of the African Leadership Excellence Academy, as chair.

While presenting the bills to the parliamentarians today, government whip Belijige Tadesse mentioned that educational background, working experience, and desire to serve were the main criteria in appointing the two boards.

Some MPs commented that proper vetting process to ensure such appointments are in line with the law of the land should be carried before forwarding the nominees for parliamentary approval.

This comes after several complaints were raised in the house endorsed the Ethiopian Media Authority (EMA) council members last April. Some say the limited representation of appropriate professionals in the council violated the EMA Proclamation No. 1238/2013.

In today’s session, some MPs also questioned the gender composition of the boards with only four women included in the nominees’ list.

The government whip welcomed the comments on the gender parity as positive input. He also said the nominees were appointed with full consideration of the law of the land.

The house finally approved the appointment of the members to both boards by majority votes.

EBC’s newly sworn-in board members are Dr. Legesse (chair), Dr. Abdulwasah Abdula, Tarekegn Bulbulata, Jafar Bediru, Mesafint Tefera, Dr. Nigussie Tefera, Yoseph Ibrahim, Amelework Ezekiel, and Ass. Prof Muna Abubakir.

The EPA Board also has Dr. Mihret (Chair), Deacon Daniel Kibret, Maereg Bezabih, Dr. Negeri Lencho, Ustaz Abubeker Mohammed, Hana Araya Selassie, Prof Mekuriya Mekasha, Nebiya Mohamed, and Dr. Kairedin Tezera as its members.

Established in1940, public media enterprise EPA is the publisher of the only Amharic language daily newspaper, Addis Zemen, and the English daily, Ethiopian Herald. It also publishes Berissa, in Oromiffa, and Al-Alem in Arabic.

The post MPs Approve Boards for EBC, Ethiopian Press Agency appeared first on Ethiopian Monitor.

Source: Link to the Post

Leave a Reply